Monday, September 9, 2013

Sahasrāra - Crown Chakra

The seventh chakra — the crown chakra — is called Sahasrāra, which means “thousandfold.” It is located just above the top of the head. The seventh chakra represents thought, and its manifestation is information. Its function is understanding, and the psychological state that it creates is bliss.

The verb that corresponds to this chakra is “I understand.”

With the discovery and the opening of the seventh chakra, we transcend from the physical to something beyond — perhaps even a greater consciousness. After all, we are not our bodies, but our minds and souls. We are part of the collective consciousness. We are part of the Great Spirit.

“The mysteries of the crown chakra cannot be explained, only experienced.” – Anodea Judit

An open crown chakra can manifest itself in many ways. Having empathy for others, a strong connection to God (or what you choose to believe in) and balance between your conscious and subconscious selves are all signs of a balanced crown chakra. However, many people have issues with attaining an ideally balanced crown chakra because it means letting go entirely of ego.

The gland affected by this chakra is the pituitary. Other body parts affected by the seventh chakra include the cerebral cortex and the central nervous system.

An imbalanced crown chakra can also manifest itself in many ways. Living in a state of constant worry, headaches, general lack of purpose, depression and an inability to connect with our higher wisdom are only a few ways that an unhealthy crown chakra can be displayed. When this chakra malfunctions it can result in depression, alienation, confusion, boredom, apathy and the inability to learn or comprehend.

Five ways to cleanse and balance your crown chakra:

Your crown chakra is strongly affected by meditation, as it’s your connection to your higher self and the higher power that you believe in.

Self-confidence and ego are not the same. Learning to let go of your ego-driven life will benefit you in many ways, not the least of which is a much healthier crown chakra. One thing to consider is that ego is often fueled by insecurity, but true confidence comes from real self-knowledge—and acceptance.

Reaching out to help others strengthens your connection to your environment—one of this chakra’s main purposes.

You can’t fully love another until you love yourself is a frustratingly true statement, and learning to love yourself for who you already are is also the first step towards accepting others.

Prayer is a very personal thing for many people, but it doesn’t have to be formal or foreign. Prayer can be as simple as setting an intention in your daily yoga practice. So close your eyes and let the voice of the deeper you be your guide.

The Crown chakra is also known as the Thousand-petalled Lotus, Brahmrandhra (door to Brahma) and Source of Light (because a supernatural light as bright as the sun radiates from it).

No other light approaches the brilliance of the sun. In the same way the radiance of all other Chakras fades before the incomparable radiance of the Sahasrāra Chakra. The Sahasrāra possesses no special colour or quality. Its light contains all colour vibrations united in the incomparable brilliance of pure light. The energy of all Nādīs flows together here, just as the water of a thousand rivers comes together in the sea.

When we are unable to see or experience anything in meditation, it is because our vision is obstructed by the barrier of the limited “I”.

The development of the consciousness progresses step-by-step; just like the seed of a Lotus when dropped into the soil first produces a delicate bud, then continues to grow upwards towards the light. The journey leads from the root of the Lotus (Mūla Prakriti) through the water (the World, which is Māyā), upwards along the stem of the Lotus (the different Chakras and levels of consciousness) until it finally reaches the blossom, the Sahasrāra Chakra.

All individuals travel along their own pathway, have their own history and their own experiences – but at the end all inevitably reach the same goal, the same truth and the same reality. However, until then it is a long journey. Only those who purposefully follow the spiritual path throughout their life with consistency and discipline, come through. Those who pursue happiness in the external world, lose their way. Eternal, true happiness is found within us and not outside. Just as a stag runs after the scent of musk not realizing it is he himself who is producing it, we seek fulfillment of our wishes in the external world and are not aware that everything we are missing and seeking is carried within us.

As Saint Francis of Assissi so concisely expressed it:

“That for which they seek is that which searches.”

Only when we turn towards the inner Self do we find fulfilment and peace.

The greatest happiness that can be bestowed upon us, due to good actions in earlier lives, is a meeting with a spiritual Master. The Masters assist us through techniques with which we are able to purify our “inner field” and open our consciousness to the Divine Light. They accompany us on all levels through our development, wherever our destiny takes us. Under their protection our soul cannot be harmed, no matter what happens.

In the Bhagavad Gita (8/24-25) Lord Krishna explains the circumstances by which the soul comes to one of these paths.

Anyone who still has some Karma adhering – good or bad – will take on a mortal body again. Those who in their earthly life load themselves largely with bad deeds, were unkind and lacked compassion for others will be born into an animal level of consciousness. With complete justification this can be described as “hell”. In an animal life form the ability of expression and development of the soul is greatly limited. It does not possess free will, intellect, speech or the capacity to reason. In this existence there is only a very small and slow development of consciousness; all karmas must be lived through over the pre-determined period, and be cleared away. But those whose good karmas predominated have the opportunity to aspire to human birth and liberation. In line with the ratio of good and bad karmas their existence is either happy or full of sorrow. The most beautiful fruit from existences which were full of good and noble actions, is a happy life enriched with numerous opportunities for development in a spiritual and peaceful environment.

The path of development through the Chakras, the process of change in the consciousness and the investigation of our own thoughts and feelings, is no easy undertaking. Many old habits must be given up, and much must be overcome.

The most important thing in life is that our spiritual practices are always performed with Bhakti – love and devotion. Through Bhakti, Ātma Chintana, Mantra and meditation the Chakras are awakened.

Allow the river of love to flow within, and hold the candle of wisdom firmly in your hand. Be a light to anyone you meet and help them on their path. In this way you will continue to progress and develop further on your spiritual path.

Namaste :)

1 comment:

  1. I heard the name of seven chakras. But didn't heard about this one. What is the chakra works for? And is it easy to open chakras beginners ?